Fasten Your Seatbelt, It’s Going To Be a Virtual Ride

Today I went to New Orleans and had a lovely visit with my old friend Colette. After that I headed up to Brooklyn and chatted with my daughter Maggie as she sipped her morning coffee. I got a tour of my brother George’s lab in Pittsburgh and he showed me his newest invention. I popped into my husband Michael’s midtown office for a quick “howdy”. And finally, I joined my sister Gail and her husband Peter for dinner in Baltimore. She was taking fresh corn muffins out of the oven as I arrived. (I swear I could smell them and they made my mouth water). Maybe tomorrow I’ll pop over to Japan and surprise Rylan.
No, I am not Superman (or should I say Wonder Woman). I am just taking advantage of that most wonderful internet tool SKYPE.
Skyping is an amazing thing, but for someone who is stuck in the hospital with no immune system ….well there are no words to describe the wonderfullness of it. (I do realize that there is not such word as “wonderfullness”, but I did say there were no words to describe it…so there you have it.)
I have no need for traditional visitors and their germs. (Though the occasional real human makes a nice change from the virtual ones) My friends are spared the long, time consuming and often expensive journey. And best of all, I get to visit people in their natural surroundings. Finally, we can see each others entire faces, as there is no need for masks covering the mouth and nose. I could go on and on, but you get the idea.
I have converted several of my new friends to the virtues of skyping. My friend Debbie told me she started crying when she finally got to see her husband and two dogs in Florida over her new Skype connection.
There is more then a touch of magic about it all.
So my new cause is that ALL patients on the leukemia floor should have access to Skype and should  be doing most of their visiting  virtually. Friends and relatives should be told to sign up for this program, and the hospital should have a few laptops and a hospital Skype account for patients who are not up on the new technology.
Makes sense right?
Be seeing you…virtually that is! 
