Invictus
    by William Ernest Henley

        1849-1903 


   Out of the night that covers me, (The nights are rather long.)

   Black as the pit from pole to pole, (Not for me, I have a night  light.)
   I thank whatever gods may be (Actually, I am more the scientist  type.)

   For my unconquerable soul.  (We’ll see…)


    In the fell clutch of circumstance  (I think I’ll keep this one.)
     I have not winced nor cried aloud. ( I have definitely winced and  even cried quietly a few times.)
     Under the bludgeoning of chance (Whatever…)
     My head is bloody, but unbowed. (Maybe not bloody,    but definitely bald.)

Beyond this place of wrath and tears (And nice people, great food and entertaining craft projects)
Looms but the Horror of the shade, ( I certainly hope not, sounds unpleasant.)
And yet the menace of the years (I expect to be here another few weeks.)
Finds, and shall find me, unafraid. (Well, maybe a little afraid.)

It matters not how strait the gate, (Maybe it matters just a little.)
How charged with punishments the scroll (Oh my !)
I am the master of my fate: (I think my Doctors and my body are more master of my fate.)
I am the captain of my soul. ( I am doing the best I can to keep my spirits up,)


This was a favorite poem of my father with my additions

Thanks Dad.

Find out more about the poem and the poet at:

 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Invictus

