I am SO Looking Forward to Raiding my Own Refrigerator

Here at Memorial Sloan Kettering they believe “that nutrition care is as important as other aspects of care”. I am on a “Low Microbial Diet” because of my poor immune system.

 This means:

1. No raw fruits or vegetables and no raw salads. (except bananas and oranges).

2. No deli meats or cold cuts. (no problem)

3. No mold ripened cheeses and soft cheeses such as Brie, Camembert, feta, goat (I LOVE goat), and muenster.

4. No raw fish or shellfish (no problem here)

5. No soft serve ice cream or frozen yogurt. (?)

Lucky for me the hospital food which I can eat is very good and I can order meals whenever I want between 7:00am and 8:00pm. I can get coffee, tea and juice whenever I want. (I’m not sure if you can read this menu, but there are lots of good options, plus desserts and a menu of daily specials). To be honest, however, chemo kind of takes away your appetite (sigh), so a lot of food gets sent back untouched.

 


and they are “proud to offer” Afternoon Tea (With Cookies)                                   

                                                               



