A thought for the season:

A block from our apartment on West 73rd Street is one of the most remarkable grocery stores in the world. I have always known that Fairways is special. Whenever I shop there, I try to go home with something which I have never tasted before. The vast array of food comes from all around the world: cheese and dairy, breads and cakes, coffees and teas, deli, olives, spices, oils and vinegars, fruits and vegetables, meats and fish, and all kinds of sauces. I could go on and on….

Fairways is also about the people. Everyone looking, talking, waiting, kvetching, choosing and interacting with each other and with all that food. It is a form of theater just to stand aside and watch.

On a recent visit I was overwhelmed by it all and found myself in tears. It is so good to be alive.

In the spirit of the season, I offer you a very short poem:

The world is so full of a number of things,
I’m sure we should all be as happy as kings.

Happy Thought
by: Robert Lewis Stevenson (1850-1895)
from: A Child’s Garden of Verses

Wishing you all a wonderful holiday and a happy New Year…

Mary

