Back in the Hospital (again)

Yesterday I came back to Sloan Kettering.

Yesterday was day -10. Today is day -9. The countdown has begun, and on day zero I will receive  an allogeneic stem cell transplant. An Allogeneic transplant, in case you didn’t know, is a stem cell transplant which will replace my stem cells with new healthy ones from a donor other then myself. The donor in my case is my sister Nancy. She is a perfect 10 for 10 point match. My sister Gail and my brother George are wonderful siblings, but they are only 5 for 10 point matches…so for this particular purpose, I am very lucky to have Nancy.

Yesterday (Monday, January 9) I had a Central Venous Catheter placed  near my heart. This was a bit scary but, as with most of what I have experienced in the past several months, the reality was not as bad as the anticipation. Now it is Tuesday, and I have started getting “Busulfan” ,the first of the three types of chemotherapy I will get over the next week. So far, so good.

My room is actually great. I have no roommate and a nice view of the East River, Rockefeller University and the 59th Street Bridge (otherwise known as the Queensburo Bridge).

I also have a fine bathroom which I do not have to share…which is wonderful.

It has been a longish day and I think I should stop writing. I will now order my dinner and watch Jon Stewart. More of my adventures will follow in the days to come.


